Of the eight hard-working CMSW teams that earned a right to compete at the History Day State Competition, three progressed to the second round of the competition. There all three groups received Honorable Mention for their outstanding work. 27,000 students in Minnesota started this process back in November and only 1,100 end up competing at the state competition level. Fewer still then go on to earn Honorable Mention! We are very proud of all of our student competitors including:


Sydney Kirmeier, Aeryn Oaxaca  —  Group Documentary – Anita Hill: The Silence Breaker

Anna Danicich, Taylor Dorn  —  Group Website – Heaven’s Gate: Doomsday through the Internet

Molly Maves, Bella Robertson, Izzy Roemer, Sydney Larson —  Group Performance – The Fight for Freedom: Japanese Internment Camps


Lindsey Dolan, Elsie McCaghy  —  Group Performance: The Orphan Train

Andrew Pana, Alex Moroney  —  Group Exhibit – 1980 Summer Olympics: The Political Pawn

Samantha Von Rentzell, Ava Laxen, Payton Wurtz, Megan Jirele  —  Group Exhibit –  AMBER Alerts

Jessie Maus, Callin Hake, Siri Hodgins  —  Group Exhibit – The Tylenol Murders

Anna Wermager, Tait Englund  —  Group Performance – Jonestown Massacre: Descent into Paranoia